

Joe Scott, Supervisor of Elections 115 S. Andrews Ave., Rm. 102 Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301 (954) 357-VOTE • www.browardvotes.gov

August 25, 2022

Broward County Mayor and Commissioners 115 South Andrews Avenue Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301

Dear Mayor and County Commissioners:

As part of the redistricting process, despite having limited time, we undertook the ambitious project of optimizing our precinct map. As we identify opportunities to improve access to polling places, we will continuously revise our footprint to meet community needs. Based on feedback we received from community leaders, we will create ten (10) new precincts across the county.

- 1. City of Lauderhill: divide L002 along US 441 and create L010 from the eastern portion.
- 2. City of Fort Lauderdale:
 - a. Divide R016 along Federal Highway and create R045 from the eastern portion.
 - b. Divide R012 along the intercoastal waterway and add the western portion to the new R045.
- 3. City of Fort Lauderdale: divide R011 along the Middle River and create R046 from the western portion.
- 4. City of West Park: divide Q081 along Hallandale Beach Blvd and create Q082 from the southern portion.
- 5. City of Sunrise: remove Sunrise Lakes Phase IV from M013 and create M018.
- 6. City of Margate: divide G009 to create a precinct for Holiday Springs that will also include some communities east of Rock Island Road. Remove parts of G001 that are not part of Coral Bay. The eastern and Southern portions are added to G009. The western portion is added to the new G010.
- 7. City of Cooper City: create U008 to encompass Embassy Lakes from portions of U003 and U004.
- 8. City of Deerfield Beach: create A016 to encompass the community surrounding the Palms of Deerfield from the northeast portion of A004.
- 9. City of Lauderdale Lakes: divide K002 along the South Fork Middle River to create K008 from the northern portion.

Page 2 – Broward County Mayor and Commissioners

10. City of Oakland Park: divide D008 along Oakland Park Blvd and create D010 from the southern portion.

In addition to these ten (10) new precincts, there were minor edits made to our precinct map as described below.

- 1. City of Deerfield Beach: a community northwest of Century Village was moved from A014 to A010.
- 2. City of Hollywood: a community west of the Florida Turnpike and north of Sheridan Street was moved from V023 to V026.
- 3. City of Fort Lauderdale: a community east of Melrose Park was moved from R036 to R037.
- 4. An error was corrected where an unincorporated community was included in a Plantation precinct. This community is east of the Florida Turnpike and south of Peters Rd. It was moved from N003 to Z002.

Best regards,

Joe Scott

Broward County Supervisor of Elections