# **Broward County**



## Legislation Details (With Text)

**File #**: 22-1057 **Version**: 1

Status: Agenda Ready

In control: County Commission

On agenda: 6/14/2022 Final action: 6/14/2022

Title: A. MOTION TO REAPPOINT following at-large advisory board members:

- Lois A. Bush to the Climate Change Task Force

- Marlon D. Bolton to the Community Action Agency Advisory Board

Natasha Britton to the Health Facilities Authority
Marcia P. Barry-Smith to the Housing Council
Frances Esposito to the Housing Council
Caryl Hattan to the Housing Council

- Lisa Vecchi to the Housing Council

- Christopher Krzemien to the Housing Council

- Teneshia Taylor to the Housing Council

- Scheril Murray Powell to the Medical Marijuana Advisory Board

- Mary Scofield-Phillips to the Pompano Beach Residential District Advisory Board

- Dahlia Baker to the Small Business Development Advisory Board

ACTION: (T-10:22 AM) Approved with Regular Meeting Additional Material, dated June 14, 2022, submitted at the request of Commissioner Alston.

VOTE: 9-0.

B. MOTION TO APPROVE waiver of conflict under Section 112.313(7)(a), Florida Statutes for Lois Bush, Frances Esposito, Lisa Vecchi, and Dahlia Baker who hold an employment or contractual relationship with an entity that receives funds from Broward County. (Commissioner Alston)

ACTION: (T-10:22 AM) Approved with Regular Meeting Additional Material, dated June 14, 2022, submitted at the request of Commissioner Alston.

VOTE: 9-0.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. Additional Information - Agenda Item and Conflict Waver

Date Ver. Action By Action Result

**Broward County Commission Regular Meeting** 

**Director's Name:** Torey Alston

**Department:** County Commission

#### Information

#### Requested Action

A. MOTION TO REAPPOINT following at-large advisory board members:

File #: 22-1057, Version: 1

- Lois A. Bush to the Climate Change Task Force
- Marlon D. Bolton to the Community Action Agency Advisory Board
- Natasha Britton to the Health Facilities Authority
- Marcia P. Barry-Smith to the Housing Council
- Frances Esposito to the Housing Council
- Caryl Hattan to the Housing Council
- Lisa Vecchi to the Housing Council
- Christopher Krzemien to the Housing Council
- Teneshia Taylor to the Housing Council
- Scheril Murray Powell to the Medical Marijuana Advisory Board
- Mary Scofield-Phillips to the Pompano Beach Residential District Advisory Board
- Dahlia Baker to the Small Business Development Advisory Board

ACTION: (T-10:22 AM) Approved with Regular Meeting Additional Material, dated June 14, 2022, submitted at the request of Commissioner Alston.

VOTE: 9-0.

B. <u>MOTION TO APPROVE</u> waiver of conflict under Section 112.313(7)(a), Florida Statutes for Lois Bush, Frances Esposito, Lisa Vecchi, and Dahlia Baker who hold an employment or contractual relationship with an entity that receives funds from Broward County. (Commissioner Alston)

ACTION: (T-10:22 AM) Approved with Regular Meeting Additional Material, dated June 14, 2022, submitted at the request of Commissioner Alston.

VOTE: 9-0.

#### Why Action is Necessary

A. The Board must approve appointments and reappointments to advisory boards.

B. A waiver of conflict arising under Section 112.313(7)(a), Florida Statutes, requires two-thirds approval by the Board in accordance with Section 112.313(12), Florida Statutes.

## **What Action Accomplishes**

Reappoints members to various advisory boards.

## Is this Action Goal Related

No

#### **Previous Action Taken**

#### Summary Explanation/Background

Commissioner Torey Alston is submitting the following advisory board members for reappointment:

- Lois A. Bush to the Climate Change Task Force in the category of "Florida Department of Transportation"

#### File #: 22-1057, Version: 1

- Marlon D. Bolton to the Community Action Agency Advisory Board in the category of "elected public official"
- Natasha Britton to the Health Facilities Authority
- Marcia P. Barry-Smith to the Housing Council in the "no category voting member"
- Frances Esposito to the Housing Council in the category of "CEO of homeless organization"
- Caryl Hattan to the Housing Council in the "no category non-voting member"
- Lisa Vecchi to the Housing Council in the category "CEO of housing organization"
- Christopher Krzemien to the Housing Council in the category of business owner that employs at least fifty (50) employees"
- Teneshia Taylor to the Housing Council in the category of "business owner that employs fewer than fifty (50) employees"
- Scheril Murray Powell to the Medical Marijuana Advisory Board
- Mary Scofield-Phillips to the Pompano Beach Residential District Advisory Board
- Dahlia Baker to the Small Business Development Advisory Board

The above members were appointed by former Commissioner Dale Holness to fill at-large positions on their respective boards. Section 1-233(a)(2)(b), provides that advisory board members who are not appointed by a fixed term continue to serve for six months after their nominating commissioner leaves office, by which time, the newly elected or newly-appointed commissioner may reappoint the incumbent or appoint a new member. If no action is taken, the seats become vacant six months after the new commissioner takes office.

Approval of this item would give rise to certain employment conflicts under Section 112.313(7)(a), Florida Statutes, which provides that "no public officer...shall have or hold any employment or contractual relationship with any business entity...which is...doing business with an agency of which he or she is an officer or employee." In accordance with Section 112.313(12), Florida Statutes, Board approval is required to waive any conflict arising under Section 112.313(7)(a), Florida Statutes. An effective waiver requires a two thirds vote of the County Commission after full disclosure of the conflicting relationship. Form 4A, Disclosure of Business Transaction, Relationship, or Interest, is attached hereto as Exhibit #1 and constitutes full disclosure of any existing conflicts.

## Source of Additional Information

**Fiscal Impact** 

Fiscal Impact/Cost Summary None.